Cafes & Cuteness Overload!!!!!! (a.k.a.) Samcheong-dong

If there is one skill I wish I possessed and had full command of it, it would be photography. Why? So I could capture all the little artsy and modern corners of places like Samcheong-dong.

A few weeks ago, I decided to take my mom out for a nice mother-daughter bonding afternoon. My mom suggested that we check out this place called Samcheong-dong, and promised me that I’ll love it. And you know mothers are never wrong, right? I absolutely loved the place.

We decided to go right after our church service on Sunday, since it’ll be on the same subway line (Line 3). We got off at An-guk station, and it was just a short walking distance away from the exit. And the weather could not have been more perfect. It was a sunny, comfortably warm mid-September day. Sunnies necessary.

Samcheong-dong turned out to be a district with an air of vintage mixed with modern touch. It had preserved some of the relics of early- to mid- 20th century Seoul, with chic boutique stores and cafes juxtaposed seamlessly in between to create an environment that is like no other in Seoul.

Everywhere I looked, the streets were lined with shops, cafes, and art. That was the decisive moment when I told myself to add “photography” to my bucket list of skills to learn.

IMG_3498

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

What I loved the most about Samcheong-dong was that there were uniquely adorable cafes everywhere. Each cafe had its own distinctive decor and theme that set itself apart from its counterparts. I am an avid coffee consumer and I love cute things. I could not ask for a better coffee heaven.

IMG_3514 Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

After wandering around for about an hour, my mom and I finally decided that it was time to eat. Before going to Samcheong-dong, I did a little research on nice restaurants to go to and wanted to check out this donkatsu (fried pork cutlet) place.

Ok, this picture really does not do the food justice… But what we basically ordered was kimchi fried rice topped with cheese (yes, that white blob is melted cheese in all its glory) and donkatsu stuffed with cheese (yes, more cheese) and pepper. Both definitely did not disappoint my palate and the pricing was very reasonable. Although I was initially more excited about the donkatsu, the kimchi fried rice took home the trophy this time – I give credit to the blob of cheese! Anyways, I could only take one picture because I was too hungry to take more. Come on, we all know how that feels…

IMG_3513 Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset IMG_3505 Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After lunch, I spent more time snapping pictures of the art in the district. There were not only art-“works,” some of the stores and their signs were art works themselves. The whole district just knew how to aesthetically present itself!

Although I didn’t go to Samcheong-dong with the intention of shopping, I just could NOT pass on these adorable socks they were selling. Aren’t they just the cutest things? I am so excited to wear them soon!


So that was pretty much my awesome afternoon spent with my mom. I absolutely adored this place, and I’m actually trying to make it a goal to go to every single cafe in the district. (challenge accepted) This place is just a jackpot for all you photographers out there, and like I said, I really wish I knew how take nice pictures with a camera so I can capture all the moments I spent there. And if you are a photographer in Seoul, and have not stumbled across Samcheong-dong yet, I say “GO CHECK IT OUT AND FALL IN LOVE WITH THE PLACE!” On that note, does anyone know any good resources where you can learn photography online? Or any good camera recommendations for beginners? I would love to know!

3 thoughts on “Cafes & Cuteness Overload!!!!!! (a.k.a.) Samcheong-dong

Leave a Reply

