5 tunes that got me through the week (Pt. 3)

Another week and another week I thank the world for amazing music that has helped me get through this week. It was a bit tough getting through this week for me (nothing happened in particular, it was just one of those weeks) but as I always swear by, nothing can go wrong with good music in your ears. So without further ado, let me introduce you to this week’s 5 tunes that got me through this week:

Destructo feat. Problem – Dare You 2 Move

Yes, Destructo does it again. “Dare You 2 Move” is dark and hypnotic. It’s a typical Destructo-esque production. Deep and bouncy basslines paired with Problem’s sleazy vocals that for some reason goes perfectly with the track. I am obsessed with Gary Richard’s (a.k.a. the mastermind behind Destructo) style. I previously mentioned his “Party It Up” in my previous “5 tunes” post, and they do have very similar vibes. Nevertheless, I can listen to the two tracks over and over again and will know the difference.

Alesso feat. Tove Lo – Heroes (Amtrac Remix)

If you’re not already familiar with Alesso’s latest emotion-inducing, festival dominating “Heroes,” go listen to it first then come back to listen to Amtrac’s interpretation. It’s a wholly different experience for Amtrac. The emotions are well-preserved but with deep house twist to it. You immediately get sucked into this beautiful and deep house trance, and Tove Lo’s hauntingly soulful vocals (which had been modified to a lower-register) are just mesmerizing!

Mincha – Make Me Feel

Chill and sexy. Just the way I like it. When I first heard this on my Soundcloud feed, it was approximately 7:30 AM on the subway, with people bustling left and right to get to their destination. This track was playing as I was making my way through the crowd, and I thought the contrast was so interesting – I almost felt like I was trapped in a time lapse video. At that time, it made me realize how much I love the city life. I am sure it was the combination of Seoul’s vibrant energy and this chill track’s urban vibe.

Alex Metric – Heart Weights A Ton (Mat Zo Remix)

https://soundcloud.com/mat_zo/alex-metric-heart-weighs-a-ton-mat-zo-remix

Making my list once more is the master himself – Mr. Superman a.k.a. Mat Zo. I freaking love this man, because he seriously has Midas touch when it comes to remixing. How he manages to make something so utterly emotional to something this badass is beyond me. He truly is a Superman. He turned this funky, future-house track into a high-energy, fast-paced DnB monster that sounds like it should be a part of the Blade soundtrack. If you feel low on energy, this track will definitely get you pumped before you know it.

Dillon Francis & Sultan & Ned ShepardΒ – When We Were Young (Valentino Khan Remix)

Yes, Dillon Francis’s album is out and it’s the best thing in the world. Dillon showcased a lot of different production styles in this album, and “When We Were Young” is the EDM-clown’s indie, pop influenced track, but with remnants of Dillon’s signature lightheartedness still present and intact. Valentino Khan brings back the oomph by introducing his trapped up rendition. It’s the kind of track that makes you sway your body in the subway line without you knowing. And you have to actually make an effort to stop yourself. Just give it a listen yourself.

Honorable Mention: Fei-Fei – Born

I tried to keep this list to 5 tracks, just as the title suggests, but this track was too good to leave out. Fei-Fei is the ultimate bad-girl of EDM (and she’s Asian, haaaay!) and this girl is seeeeeeeeeriously talented. Whether she’s tearing it up on the decks (girl crush circa Resolution 2012) or she’s banging out track after track, she just kills it every. single. time.Β “Born” is the first track of her album “Pretty Girls Don’t Hallucinate,” and you can say that it’s a good prelude to what you’ll hear from the rest of the album – top-notch production. I really love this girl, if you couldn’t tell already, and I think she’s definitely worth following closely.

What have you been listening to this week? Comment below or link me to your favorite tune! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

