The important women in my life

flower-pink-spring-4331

Happy International Women’s Day!

For those of you who are not familiar with the day, it is basically a day to celebrate and appreciate women. What started out as a movement to celebrate and acknowledge social and economic achievements made by women, decades later, the political nuance is not as stressed.

Although I firmly believe it’s important to highlight such achievements made by women, I also believe it doesn’t always have to be political. I like to interpret Women’s Day as a day to just simply appreciate and love all the great and amazing women around us. We are all surrounded and influenced by intelligent, kind-hearted, admirable women. They could be family members, friends, colleague, neighbor, teacher, or someone such as a writer, political figure, a leader, celebrity, etc. Whoever they are, they are important to you because they have touched you in one or many ways.

To me, those wonderful people would be my mother, sister, grandmother, and my two best girlfriends. They have all contributed to how I am today in one way or the other. They are all uniquely beautiful to me and I would not have them any other way. They’re the women I know who’ll support me and stand by me through whatever. I am forever grateful for their presence and feel blessed to have them in my life.

Truthfully, we don’t need an official day to celebrate women, because we should be celebrating every single day. I’m going to make today as a reminder to do so and always be thankful and appreciative of the important women in my life.

I hope everyone has a love-filled day, and don’t forget to tell the important women in your life how much they mean to you! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The important women in my life

  1. Jane says:

    This is really beautiful. I think it’s so important to honour the amazing, inspiring and strong women that influence us. I think my mom and my grandmother are my top inspiring women.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

