A few things I did well recently

bricks-bruessels-line-4303aI was very eager to make some improvements in my life this past month or so. It was my way of saying adios to winter and welcoming the warmer weather. They weren’t drastic changes. Some things I have accomplished are so simple that it might even seem trivial, but I am still proud of myself for sticking through to make positive changes in my life.

Reading more I used to be the biggest bookworm as a kid. For some reason, that passion diminished as I became bogged down with other things. (like grown-up stuff *sobs*) I wanted to restore my love for reading and picked up a book that was gifted to me by a very good friend. I made an effort to read it whenever I can – on the subway, during my lunch break, before going to bed… And I ended up finishing the book a week before my goal date! I think this is a great way to get reading back into your life. I cant’ wait to start another one. Any suggestions?

Drinking water more Yes, we all know how important it is to hydrate. But this one sure is easier said than done. In order to achieve this, I made a small chart to have at least 5 tall glasses of water a day (I know 8 is the magic number, but baby steps for now!) After sticking to this for the past few weeks, I actually started seeing changes in my body. My acne started clearing up and the bloating of the body ceased as well. When I started seeing the physical changes, I knew this habit was here to stay in my daily routine for good! ***TIP: it really helps to keep track of how much you’ve been drinking if you can see it in front of you. Make a small chart like I did (even a tally mark sheet helps) to keep track. Visualizing the results can also help you to push yourself to drink more.

Cutting down on junk food I love my chocolates, cookies, biscuits, cupcakes, chips, ice cream, doughnuts… you name it! I admit I really let myself go during winter, comforting myself with all the deliciously dangerous food in my path. And boy, am I paying for the consequences now… I knew that stopping altogether was impossible, so I made an effort to cut down the number of times my hands reached for the snack drawer (YES I HAVE A SNACK DRAWER) and gradually decreased the number of times I consumed junk food. I must say I’m very proud of this achievement, because nowadays I seldom think of junk food during the day! Did you know that sugar can be addictive like drugs? Therefore, the more you consume, the more your body becomes dependent on it. So it’s really important to cut down your sugar consumption!

Exercising more I decided to take a more realistic approach to this one. Instead of signing up for a gym membership or deciding to run a mile every single day, I planned my exercises according to my weekly schedule. I made it a goal to run at least once a week, and workout at home after work at least 3 times a day. I was never a fan of working out at home because it was easy to lose focus and motivation. However, Blogilates had me change my mind in a heartbeat! Cassey of Blogilates is wonderfully motivational and makes at-home pilates fun – but she will make you work. All of her videos are around 10-15 minutes, which is very convenient for squeezing it into my schedule. Definitely worth checking out if you want to make working out at home successful!

Sleeping earlier I’m one of those people who will always find something trivial to delay sleeping time (points finger at Youtube & Instagram). I fought the urge to check into those apps and made myself go to bed before 11pm every night for the past few weeks. The extra hours I earned from this simple achievement was totally worth it, and I thanked myself the next morning. I was inspired by one of the article from my recent post (The Sunday Girl’s “Sleep Awareness Week”), where it talked about the importance of sleep and how to improve the quality of your sleep. I promise you, this small change can make a huge difference the next day.

Signing up for the Nike Run & Spartan Race I never thought I would ever participate in any type of runs. I have the Nike Run and the Spartan Race coming up in May and June, respectively. They would be the most physically intense thing I would ever do. (check out the link to see what I’m talking about) I was very hesitant to sign up at first, but my coworkers (who I am doing the races with) kept on encouraging me to do it. I am really nervous but I’m excited to take on the challenge at the same time. I guess this gives me more reasons to get fit!

7 thoughts on “A few things I did well recently

  1. annie lee says:

    well done somin! hehe 🙂 have you tried audible btw? i wasn’t convinced at first but once i started, man i finish like 3-4 books a month! which wouldn’t be possible if i were to read an actual, physical book cos i move around a lot and i try to get the most out of it while i commute. maybe you’ll like it too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • annie lee says:

        yes that’s on good months – at least 2 a month that’s for sure! 🙂 i find it even better than reading actually. if you get a good narrator that is. sometimes the authors would read it themselves but most of the times not. but you can always return a book and get a new one if you don’t like it so its awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

