LIFE UPDATE! + My “REAL” TCK Story…

LIFE UPDATE! + My "REAL" TCK Story...

This past July 1st marked my first year being back home in Korea. I’m sure I’ve sad this countless times, but I cannot believe how fast time flies by! This past year has definitely been one for the books. And I don’t mean that in a fun-filled, exciting-roller-coaster-ride way. But more so in a way that it’s been a time of great changes, something that will leave an impression in my life and upcoming future in a significant way. Sticking to the roller-coaster analogy, this year was a roller-coaster ride through a hazy cloud of uncertainty, hard decisions, and reevaluating myself inside and out.

I use this blog to express my sentiments and thoughts as aΒ member of the Third Culture Kid community. I write here in hopes of relating to other TCKs, and others finding my blog helpful or relatable. (Of course, I sprinkle some random out-of-the-blue posts here and there when I feel like it.) Before I knew it, I was pressuring myself to put up posts that weren’t 100% true to my heart. It didn’t truly reflect my experiences as a TCK back home. In reality, I was miserable, I hated Korea, and I wanted to get out of here as soon as possible. For some reason, I didn’t want to show that on my blog. I guess I wanted to keep this a “positive” online space. But I couldn’t go on like this and I started to lose motivation. Because deep inside, I was battling to forcefully attach myself to where I am and my current situation. I saw myself fumble down a cloud of darkness and uncertainty. I started turning introverted, depressed, and helpless. I withdrew myself from social gatherings to just avoid people as much as possible, assuming that I won’t be able to connect with those people I meet anyway.

I am going through an identity crisis, not just in a TCK context, but also in terms of what I want to do in the future, finding a purpose and such.

I am going through an identity crisis, not just in a TCK context, but also in terms of what I want to do in the future, finding a purpose and such.

But I managed to find a tiny ray of light in spite of all of this. I want to use this sentiment to motivate myself to be more real on TCK Goes Home. To talk about the good, the bad, and the ugly of my experiences of a TCK. It may not be the prettiest or the coolest blog out there, but I want this blog to really represent me, my feelings, and my experiences. And I really hope that it can resonate with other TCKs out thereΒ whether they’re still abroad or back home like I am.

On a brighter note, this recent self-evaluation, the never-ending tossing-and-turning has motivated me to turn my heads towards travelling. I feel like since I’ve been fretting so much about missing home that I started to forget to explore what the rest of the world is like. I haven’t quite decided where to go to yet, but I’m definitely more open to setting my foot out to a new place. I’ll most likely log my travel inspirations and planning on the blog.

Soooo, to wrap everything up, I just wanted to give myself a squeeze on my shoulder for getting through the first year of being back home and starting a new chapter of my life. I want to start year 2 strong and fully-fueled. And as my new “blog” year’s resolution (yes, I just made that up), I want to become more active in the blogging community, create meaningful relationships, and just make. everything. count. If you are a fellow TCK, and whether or not you are going through similar experiences as me, I would love to connect with you! πŸ™‚ Because, one thing I realized from this past year is that things are a lot easier when you’re not alone.

3 thoughts on “LIFE UPDATE! + My “REAL” TCK Story…

  1. Ayawa says:

    I really understand the sentiments you’ve expressed here. As a TCK myself, and someone who blogs about, writing has given me some clarity. Through writing, I have been able to work through over a decade of feelings. Writing my posts and reading about other TCK adventures help me work through some of my personal challenges as well. Being a TCK can make questions about self-identity, self-discovery and finding purpose so challenging!

    Like

    • Somin Bach says:

      I’m glad you found a medium to channel your sentiments. It’s also a great way to meet others with similar interests & backgrounds. Especially, TCKs, it’s not everyday you get to meet one around you. I’m very happy that I got to connect with other TCKs through blogging!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

