Hey TCKs, where would you raise your child?

Where would you raise your child?

I firmly believe that the environment you grow up in can really shape who you’ll become. (I am a third culture kid, after all) Although the thought of raising a child is still daunting to me, I can’t say that the thought of where I would raise my child never crossed my mind. It’s fun and interesting to look back at all the places that have left an impression in my heart and upbringing and ask myself: if I were to raise my child, which one of those places would you go? Or would it be a completely new place that I’ve never set foot on?

I have spent my childhood growing up in the following three countries: Korea, U.S., and China in that order. Spending my high school days in international and expat-central Shanghai, I thought I had everything figured out. Therefore, I devised a plan. (Yes, a high schooler with a grand plan) I wanted to raise my child in the U.S. first then move to China (Shanghai, to be specific) and enroll him/her in one of the international schools. Now that wasn’t really a plan, per se, because that I was simply replicating the chronicles of my upbringing. I was such a cute teenager back then, huh?

Ok, the point of the short anecdote above wasn’t to reiterate my upbringing, but to bring light to a question that had been subconsciously in my head for years. I’m sure my real plan of the future will be more detailed and structured compared to the one conjured up by the 16-years old Somin, but I know one thing that will stay constant. I want my child to be a TCK too.

I’ll put it out there that living the TCK life is great and an incredible experience. However, I do understand that it’s not something that can be granted to every single person. But I would love to provide that lifestyle to my child as much as my abilities would allow me to.Β Maybe this desire is derived from myself wanting to maintain the TCK/expat lifestyle? Does that count as being selfish, though?

Going back to where I would station my TCK-to-be child, I probably wouldn’t contest the idea of raising them in China. Shanghai would be great! If you guys have been reading my old stuff, you guys know how much I absolutely love the city.

Related: Hold on, I’m going home!!! (Well, one of them)

One of the pros of going back to Shanghai would be that because I already have experiences living there, that would serve as a cushion to ease the troubles that comeΒ with transitioning to a different country and culture. Also, Shanghai is a great international metropolitan that represents the East and the West very well. I think it would be interesting to raise my child in such a diverse city rather than somewhere that’s more homogenous.

Now allow me to turn the tables around and ask you: where would you raise your child in the future? Let me know in the comments! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Hey TCKs, where would you raise your child?

  1. sileas says:

    Oh that’s a tough one! I think it’s great for a kid to grow up with different cultures, but it can be tough too (self-identity etc. we all know the struggles of being a TCK…). I grew up in Austria, which is a very safe, organized and wealthy country with lots of government support for health and education. So from a sensible point of view, I’d raise my kid here too – however take I’d take it to different countries, make international friends and of course feed it lots of Asian food πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Somin Bach says:

      There are so many things to consider when raising a child, right? (btw, I’m no expert of raising a kid by any means!!) I think government support, safety, and economic prospect are all super important. I totally agree with feeding my future kids Asian food too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yuki says:

    hahaha I had the same naive thought in high school and planned my entire life out. I’d like to give my child the same experiences as me but sadly, life doesn’t go as planned 😦 Ideally, I’d like if my child was exposed to different cultures. One thing I know for sure is that I’ll make sure my child won’t be monolingual !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Somin Bach says:

      Haha, our high school selves clearly had everything figured out, right? I agree with you on my future kid being bi/multi-lingual! I think even if I can’t provide the upbringing I had, I would like my kid to speak multiple languages.

      Like

  3. Tiffany Mana says:

    It’s so interesting reading how you feel about wanting your child to be TCK. As much as I want my child to be TCK as well I don’t want to (and it’s probably not feasible).

    My biggest reason being the identity issues I had growing up and feeling lost and confused. I don’t want my kid to constantly question “where am I from”, “where’s home” etc. But I do want to give them as much diverse cultural exposure as possible without losing their sense of stability within themselves. The other reason being that it’s going to cost money and I kind of need to stay in one place to keep the job I have! LOL.

    Anyway, I can’t say for sure what will happen in the future~ who knows I might end up raising my kids in some random countries.

    Like

  4. charandtheweb says:

    That’s an interesting question. I’m 24, been a TCK all my life, and though I have no plans of having kids as of yet, it is something to think about. I wouldn’t mind raising my kids as TCKs, but it’s like you said, it may also come from my desire to continue to live the expat life. All I know is that I learned so much from a young age, and that though have to say goodbye and adjust every couple of years, I look back with lots of fond memories. On the other hand I also hope my friends can meet lifelong friends, feel like they have a home and not constantly change what they call home. It’s definitely a tricky one!

    Lovely blog by the way. Would you be interested in sharing your work on Creators.co? We’d love to see your work featured on the platform as we continue to branch out into different areas. Let me know if you’d be interested. Simply shoot me an e-mail for more information, you can find my contact details on my blog. I’d love to hear from you. x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Somin Bach says:

      Thanks for your comment! I also think having a sense of stability is very important for my future kids, but at the same time, I want my kids to have a taste (at least, if not the full experience) of my upbringing! Bur you’re absolutely right – it sure is a tricky topic to nail down…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

