Starbucks in Korea: Toffee Nut Latte

Starbucks in Korea: Toffee Nut Latte

Fall means many different things to different people. To some, it means stepping on beautifully colored, crunchy leaves. To some, it means bidding adieu to summertime fun and preparing for the colder weather. (sweater weather, anyone?) To some, it means the start of school. The list goes on… And some might wonder, “why in the world is she talking about fall when we’re already halfway deep into the season???”

I’ll explain why. Back in Seattle, the ultimate sign of Fall’s presence was the ย a warm PSL (Pumpkin Spice Latte) from Starbucks! Nothing came close to making me happier than lining up inside a Starbucks fully outfitted in the basic attire (read leggings and UGG boots) to get my hands on the much-beloved drink. Go ahead and judge me…

That all changed after I moved to Korea, because PSL, or anything pumpkin-spice related does not exist in Korea. (I’m not sure about other countries in Asia… If it does, let me know in the comments!) Even talking about the concept of it was only met with strange looks. That totally shattered my heart! So after going a year PSL-lessly, I decided to search for an alternative for this year’s colder season.

Korean Starbucks Holiday Drinks

Which one(s) would you try?

This year, Starbucks in Korea has rolled out a deliciously alluring list of holiday drinks. As you can see from the promo poster above, the drinks areย Hazelnut Crunch Mocha, Christmas Vanilla Tea Latte, and Toffee Nut Latte. I decided to try one of the three, but it wasn’t easy choosing just one. I could kind of guess what Hazelnut Crunch Mocha would taste like. (Like hazelnut + mocha… right?) Christmasย Vanilla Tea Latte sounded interesting since I never had anything like that before. But the lady behind the counter recommended the Toffee Nut Latte. Since I was already in a dilemma, I decided to give her suggestion a try.

The suggestion I took sure did not disappoint. I knew from the very first sip that this would be on my A-list. The first encounter with the drink was met with buttery warmth which immediately spread in my mouth. The earthy, nuttiness of toasted nut awakened my taste buds as it trickled down my throat. Just like the other Starbucks holiday drinks, the Toffee Nut Latte sinks in your stomach cozily and the warmth radiates inside you. I also liked how the texture of the drink was thick and smooth at the same time, really emphasizing the warmth and the holiday vibes; just like how any holiday drinks should be!

In comparison, the PSL is sweet and decadent, while the Toffee Nut Latte is more characterized by its earthy undertones blended deliciously with the familiar cozy scent of coffee. I think it’s safe to say that Toffee Nut Latte has found a place in my heart and I can already tell that I’ll be craving it many times this winter!

I love how Starbucks always comes up with all these wonderful drinks during the holiday season. They add to the excitement of holiday festivities, don’t they? Also, different countries have different holiday drinks that make you want to fly over just to try a sip!

What is your favorite Starbucks holiday drink?

Leave a Reply

