TCK Goes to Ultra Korea 2016

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetIMG_9147Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

When I moved back to Korea, I thought that would be the end of my festival career. I honestly had no hope in the Korean scene and the few festivals I attended here only fueled the hopelessness. That came to an end a few weekends ago, when I went to Ultra Korea. (I already raved about the event in my previous post) Although it wasn’t exactly like the festivals back in the states, I still had a blast and it changed my perspective on Korean music festivals. Production of the event was spectacular and I saw so many people from all over the world. The sound system was also on point, which is super important at any music festivals. During the span of two days of dancing and screaming, I got to check out some new artists (Jauz!!!) as well as artists I’ve seen before like Knife Party, Fedde le Grand, and Deadmau5. Oh, and this was Avicii’s last Ultra, so that was pretty memorable too on so many “levels.” (Sorry.)

Although initially, I was a little disappointed with the lineup, the overall experience and the great vibes made up for it. It was also a reminder of why I loved going to music festivals so much. The positive energy that radiates from within helps you forget daily troubles and worries for the time being. I’m also happy to see that dance music is growing in Asia, particularly in Korea. It feels like the U.S. scene a few years agoΒ when it was starting to boom. It’s a promising sign that the scene will mature and grow bigger (and eventually become extremely commercialized, but I won’t get into that now.) and that I’ll have something to look forward to in the future.

Are you attending any music festivals this summer? Which one are you going to?

Happy festival season!


Also, you can follow me on instagram and twitter. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “TCK Goes to Ultra Korea 2016

Leave a Reply

