May 2017 be the year of compassion

It is almost 8pm on a Monday night in Seoul as I’m writing this. I’m sitting here, battling a nasty cold, trying to figure out what to write for the blog. Secret revealed: my sister and I “planned” this post to be relevant to 구정 (or the Lunar New Year), you know… because that’s what bloggers do… Plan ahead, right? I think what we originally had in mind was a cheery post featuring delicious food we’ll devour during the holiday, the importance of spending quality time with family, traditions… All the heartwarming things you could relate to such a holiday.

Lie I shall not, I was not able to prepare any materials to make that plan a reality. To be honest, I still don’t have the energy to write up a cheery post. So I racked my brain for ideas and ended up thinking about the world events of the recent days. The inauguration of Donald Trump as the 45th President of the U.S., Women’s March, the seemingly never-ending political fiasco in Korea… And it just makes one beg the question: will peace ever be restored in the world? There just seems to be so much selfishness and unfairness going on in the world, and for it to be coming from the establishment is just disheartening, isn’t it?

On an individual level, I believe it’s important to fight back against the negativity by showing compassion. Be grateful and be aware of those around you. Even looking ahead of the New Year holiday ahead, I’m already imagining those who’ll be working at gas stations, toll booths, rest stops, fire stations, police stations, etc…Most of the time, it’s so easy to take them for granted, because we’re so focused on our happiness and our time.

I know it’s easy to think that an individual can’t make a difference. Sure, your one act of kindness might not stop poverty the next day, but remember that even a tiny difference is still a difference. And this post is, by no means, meant to preach whoever is reading this, but it’s a written reminder for myself to be more compassionate and less self-absorbed this year.

Call this a belated New Year’s Resolution, if you will, but I am going to try my best to stick to this. I hope everyone has a great Lunar New Year if you celebrate it, and we will be back next week!

2 thoughts on “May 2017 be the year of compassion

Leave a Reply

